Landon is also a member of the Association of Independent Schools of Greater Washington (AISGW) and the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), and a founding member of the International Boys’ Schools Coalition (IBSC).


Headmaster: Jim Neill
Assistant Head of School for Academics: Charles Franklin
Head of Upper School: Ehren Federowicz
Interim Head of Middle School: Erin Duffy
Head of Lower School: Randy Bednar

Board of Trustees Leadership 2018–19

Chairman: Scott S. Harris '84
Vice Chairman: Kathy Wellington
President: Jim Neill
Secretary: Martin Weinstein
Treasurer: Steve Mayer
Trustees Emeriti: Knight Kiplinger ’65, Samuel M. Lehrman, Lawrence Lamade ’65, Russell “Rusty” C. Lindner ’72, Peter J. FitzGerald, Sr. ’50

Landon School is an independent day school for boys in Grades 3–12 in Bethesda, Maryland. A headmaster, selected by the Landon Board of Trustees, is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the school.

Reporting directly to the headmaster are the assistant head of school for academics, who manages the school's curriculum and instructional practices; the assistant head of school for enrollment, admissions and community, who oversees the admissions process; and the heads of Landon’s three divisions: Lower School (Grades 3–5), Middle School (Grades 6–8) and Upper School (Grades 9–12).

A Board of Trustees focuses on maintaining the long-term health of Landon, including its financial stability. The Board’s duties include hiring and evaluating the headmaster and devising major policies that will drive the future direction of the school.

Mr. Anderson Jerome Arnold

Class of 1978

Mr. Alexander D. Baldwin

Mr. Michael I. Connolly

Class of 1975

Mr. Matthew A. Coursen

Class of 1999

Mr. Donald Lundy Dell

Class of 1956

Ambassador William Carlton Eacho III

Class of 1972

Mr. Robert H. Edwards Jr.

Mrs. Jean-Marie Fernandez

Mr. Peter J. FitzGerald Sr.

Class of 1950

Mr. Jeffrey H. Freed

Mr. Scott Sutherland Harris

Class of 1984

Mrs. Beverly Hudnut

Mr. Kenneth W. Jenkins

Class of 1978

Mr. Aranthan Steve Jones II

Mr. Olivier Y. Kamanda

Class of 1999

Mrs. Kenwyn Anne Kindfuller

Mr. Knight Austin Kiplinger

Class of 1965

Mr. Douglas H Lagarde

Mr. Lawrence L. Lamade

Class of 1965

Mr. Samuel Lehrman

Mr. Russell C. Lindner

Class of 1972

Mr. William P. Magruder

Class of 1992

Mr. Steven C. Mayer

Mr. James Taylor Neill

Mr. Edward M Prince Jr.

Class of 1984

Mr. Thomas Walter Scott

Class of 1985

Mr. Harmar Thompson

Class of 1990

Mr. Martin J. Weinstein

Mrs. Katheryn Phillips Wellington

All School Calendar


Be a Better Teammate

Jonny '19 — an All-IAC varsity wrestler and leader of a nonprofit organization — spoke about the value of being a good teammate to those around you in more ways than the traditional sense of the word.