Kupka and Banfield Awards


The Anthony Edward Kupka ’64 Distinguished Alumnus Award is presented annually at the Holiday Luncheon to an alumnus who has been selected to receive it by the Awards’ Committee of the Alumni Association Board of Directors. The award was established in 1981 in memory of Buddy Kupka ’64, who was killed in the Vietnam War.

During his years at Landon, Buddy exemplified all the qualities of citizenship, integrity and diligence Landon has always sought to instill in its students. The award is made each year to an alumnus who has demonstrated the ideals for which Landon stands through service to Landon, his community, his profession, or his country.

Nominate an alumnus for the Anthony Edward Kupka '64 Distingushed Alumnus Award online HERE.

Kupka Award Winners
2020 Lynn D. Wilson '80
2019 Thomas C. Hanks '62
2018 Roger S. Blumenthal '77
2017 Jonathan D. Schiller ’65
2016 The Hon. Steve Rideout ’61
2015 Dr. James L. Cavanaugh Jr. ’59
2014 Donald L. Dell ’56
2013 Cary M. Maguire ’46
2012 Charles A. Hobbs ’46
2011 Tom McEwan ’64 and Jamie McEwan ’70
2010 John F. “Jeff” Fort III ’59
2009 Dr. Richard K. Dortzbach ’55
2008 Devol Brett ’41
2007 Joshua M. Freeman ’83
2006 Phillip S. Jacobs ’69
2005 John M. Ourisman ’71
2004 Maury Povich ’57
2003 Bruce T. Adams ’66
2002 Rush Holt ’66
2001 Rufus King ’60
2000 Jerry FitzGerald ’50
1999 Ahmet Ertegun ’40
1998 Knight Kiplinger ’65
1997 Win Wilson ’45
1996 Alan Brinkley ’67
1995 Charlie Whitebread ’61
1994 John A. Manfuso ’47
1993 George Kriner ’43
1992 Bob Hanson ’43
1991 Lou Byron ’57
1990 John Walker ’44
1989 Don Harris ’47
1988 Stan Harris ’45
1987 Landon Banfield ’50
1986 Chuck Boteler ’41
1985 Tom Owen ’53
1984 John Gill ’42
1983 Bill Patch ’43
1982 Harrison Prindle ’31
1981 Alumni who gave their lives in the service of their country


This award is bestowed annually at the Holiday Luncheon on an alumnus who, through the years, has been selflessly devoted to the development of Landon School and the well-being of its boys. The award is named in Honor of Dr. W. Landon Banfield ’50 for his tireless dedication to the preservation of the Landon tradition.

William Landon Banfield III ’50, trustee emeritus and nephew of school founder Paul Landon Banfield, graduated from Princeton University and George Washington University Medical School, where he was later on the faculty. He was an Air Force flight surgeon from 1959-61 and was a partner in the Urology Group medical practice in Washington, D.C. A native of Bethesda, he lived in Poolesville with his wife, Cicely Anderson Banfield. The Banfields had three children, including two Landon alumni, Landon ’81 and Philip ’82, and a daughter, Dale.

Dr. Banfield spent more years at Landon that any graduate: He entered in first grade, when the school briefly took students in first, second and third grades. On the athletic field, he distinguished himself by excelling in football, basketball and baseball. He captained the football team in his senior year and was a starter on the basketball team. He was an enthusiastic supporter of many programs at Landon, but when asked about his favorite, he would always answer that it was the Shrimp Bowl game. He felt that it was a great equalizer where boys from varied backgrounds were all the same on the football field.

Throughout his life, he remained active in the affairs of the school his uncle and aunt built. He lived his entire life as a man who embodied all of characteristics that Landon School most prizes: loyalty, honor, character, commitment and service. In 2001, just months before he died, the Alumni Association established the W. Landon Banfield ’50 Award for Outstanding Service to Landon, paying tribute to Dr. Banfield’s tireless dedication to the preservation of the Landon tradition and recognizing others who share his love for this School.

Nominate an alumnus for the W. Landon Banfield '50 Award for Outstanding Service Award online HERE.

Banfield Award Winners
2020 Joseph A. Kenary, Jr. '82
2019 Stephen L. Gordon, Sr. '75
2018 George F. Wenchel '65
2017 Sylvester F. Miniter ’80
2016 Sandy Murray ’63
2015 Marcos S. Williams ’65
2014 Murray S. Simpson ’55
2013 Daniel L. Korengold ’69
2012 Henry Dudley ’66
2011 Wallace F. “Hap” Holladay Jr. ’65
2010 H. Sherman “Tiger” Joyce ’78
2009 Thomas F. Cunningham ’76
2008 Robert Buchanan ’60
2007 John P. Leachman ’69
2006 Knight A. Kiplinger ’65
2005 Russell C. Lindner ’72
2004 Paul B. Kern Jr. ’54
2003 John G. Shooshan ’70
2002 Lawrence L. Lamade ’65
2001 Robinson M. Bordley ’66