Calendar

Welcome to Landon's online calendar! Please see the key below to match each event with its division or category. For current parents, the 2018-19 calendar can also be found on BearNet. For our 2018–19 key dates calendar, click here. The following calendar outline is approved for Landon’s 2019-20 school year. Please note dates are subject to change, and the full calendar will be released in June.

Fall athletics start dates (Upper School only)
Monday, August 12 (football)
Saturday, August 17 (soccer, water polo)
Monday, August 19 (cross country)

Opening Day
Tuesday, September 3

Winter Break
Saturday, December 21-Monday, January 6

Spring Break
Thursday, March 19-Monday, March 30

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Apr 28
Us icon s2 Spring Day at Landon
-
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Us icon s2 Form VI "Ten Year Students" Luncheon
-
Banfield Alumni Room
Wed, May 1
As icon All-School Choral Concert
-
Coates Auditorium
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
As icon Landon Threads Open
-
Us icon s2 Improv Performance - Jr. Show
-
US Corcoran Room
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Ls icon LS Music Recitals
-
Coates Auditorium
Wed, May 8
Ms icon MS Music Recitals
-
Coates Auditorium
Thu, May 9
Admissions New Parent Reception
-
Lindner Dining Hall
Fri, May 10
As icon Landon Threads Open
-
Sat, May 11
Ms icon MS Community Service - A Wider Circle
-
Silver Spring, MD
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Tue, May 14
Ls icon Stories under the Stars
-
Pielage Amphitheater (Rain: Lower School Library)
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
As icon Landon Threads Open
-
Us icon s2 US Musical: Newsies
-
Coates Auditorium
Sat, May 18
Us icon s2 US Musical: Newsies
-
Coates Auditorium
Us icon s2 US Musical: Newsies
-
Coates Auditorium
Sun, May 19
Tue, May 21
Ls icon LS Band and Strings Concert
-
Coates Auditorium
Wed, May 22
Ms icon MS Handbells Spring Concert
-
Coates Auditorium
Thu, May 23
Us icon s2 US Class Day
-
Coates Auditorium
Us icon s2 Form VI Band and Strings Concert
-
Coates Auditorium
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Ms icon MS Awards Assembly
Coates Auditorium
Thu, May 30
Us icon s2 US Exam - English/Humanities
-
Ls icon LS Awards Assembly
-
Coates Auditorium
Fri, May 31
Us icon s2 US Exam - Science
-
Us icon s2 Senior Dinner
-
Mondzac Performing Arts Center
Sat, Jun 1

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Admissions Landon Admissions Calendar
  • As icon Landon All School Calendar
  • Ls icon Landon Lower School Calendar
  • Ms icon Landon Middle School Calendar
  • Us icon s2 Landon Upper School Calendar

News

Collaboration + creativity = art

Art teacher Megan Rains-Mercado writes in this blog post about this year's Landon Lower School art show. The show, titled "Collaborative Portraits of Prominent Members of the Civil Rights Movement," features projects that not only build the boys' creative skills but also teach them about leadership and character through a look back at transformative figures in U.S. civil rights history.

One goal can change your life

Award-winning author Matt de la Peña visited Landon's Middle School and shared how his unlikely journey led him to his dream career.

The power of community on stage

Landon and Holton-Arms traditionally collaborate on the stage throughout the year, and this spring the productions revolve around how a community can come together for good.

Student-driven learning in the lab

Beverly Sivaslian is an Upper School chemistry teacher who attended a workshop this winter on a new teaching approach called Argument Driven Inquiry (ADI). In this blog, Sivaslian describes the approach, how it effectively develops students' critical thinking and writing skills, and how she put it to work in her chemistry classes.