Epstein '18, Das '19 are D.C.-area Players of the Year

Lacrosse attack Joey Epstein '18 and tennis player Sachin Das '19 have been named Washington Post All-Met Players of the Year in their respective sports.

Mo Sillah '18 also earned All-Met honorable mention for lacrosse and West Shaw '18 scored honorable mention for golf in The Washington Post's accolades, given each season to the best athletes in the D.C. metro area.

This marks the second year in a row a Landon lacrosse player has earned Washington Post's top honor — face-off man Justin Shockey '17 was All-Met Player of the Year in 2017. Epstein's selection caps a season in which he led the Bears to a 21–6 record and a regular-season Interstate Athletic Conference (IAC) title, the program's 32nd, in Coach Rob Bordley '66's final year as head coach.

In addition, Epstein earned All-American honors from both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) and Under Armour; was IAC Player of the Year; and became the first Bear in history to earn the prestigious Kelly Award, which since 1945 has been given to the best player in Maryland. He broke the Landon all-time scoring record in his junior year and now sits more than 100 goals above No. 2, and he is the record-holder for career assists and career total points, as well as the single-season record-holder for goals and points.

"Joey is the hardest working young man I have seen in my 40-plus years of coaching lacrosse and football," Bordley said. "More than that, he is an exceptional teammate who set the tone for our team with his inspirational play, leadership and character."

Das also was named tennis IAC Player of the Year after a spring campaign in which he went undefeated and helped propel his team to a 8–1 overall record, a perfect record in IAC play, and a second straight outright IAC championship (the team has won both the regular-season and tournament titles two years in a row) to bring the program's total to 50 IAC crowns.

Over that two-year span, Das's record is 19–1, with his only defeat coming to Ricky Bell of Bullis in 2017. Das evened the score with Bell in the IAC Tournament this year, handing Bell the first loss of his high school career. In addition, Das was victorious against Joseph Brailovsky of Wooton, last year's All-Met Player of the Year and a two-time Maryland state champion.

"Sachin is always striving and looking for ways to improve — it is truly inspiring to watch him get down to business and to see it pay off," Coach W.T. Miller '86 said. "He's also so modest and giving. He plays with everyone on the team and is so supportive of all the boys."

See below for a complete list of spring sports honors, and click here for a recap of Landon's spring athletics season.


  • Xander DeNovio '18: All-IAC
  • Ryan Fruehwirth '18: All-IAC


  • West Shaw '18: All-Met (honorable mention), All-IAC


  • Joey Epstein '18: Under Armour All-American, USILA All-American, All-Met Player of the Year, Kelly Award for Best Player in Maryland, IAC Player of the Year, Pigskin Player of the Year
  • John Geppert '18: All-IAC
  • Zach Johnson '18: All-IAC
  • Mo Sillah '18: All-Met (honorable mention), All-IAC
  • Drew Wellington '18: All-IAC

Outdoor Track & Field

  • Kevin Tsai '18: All-IAC


  • Sachin Das '19: All-Met Player of the Year, IAC Player of the Year
  • Rodrigo Pedraza Garcia '19: All-IAC
  • Cyrus Rahbaran '20: All-IAC